Login     Sign up
Rename Admin?
Matt (@miles)
Join date: Oct 5th 2010
Community posts: 2
View Profile
Send Message

Hi,

how can i change the name of the admin? I dont want to make a second account for that.
i want to change the name from "admin" into, err, yeah, "miles". or something like that. whatever.

174 months ago
Jcow Master (@falcone)
Join date: Sep 2nd 2010
Community posts: 917
View Profile
Send Message

in the admin area, addons section: execute sql query

[code]
update jcow_accounts set username = 'Miles' where id = 1;
[/code]

174 months ago
Matt (@miles)
Join date: Oct 5th 2010
Community posts: 2
View Profile
Send Message

it works. thanks.

oh, and another question: the profilequestion "real name". Can i delete that from the registration-formular and from the profile? i dont need username AND the real name. its just twice.

174 months ago
rudy lino (@hack8hide)
Join date: Sep 8th 2010
Community posts: 36
View Profile
Send Message

The username is the one someone will use in signing in. And the real name is his full name.

174 months ago
AL (@switch48)
Join date: Sep 1st 2010
Community posts: 450
View Profile
Send Message

[quote=falcone]in the admin area, addons section: execute sql query

[code]
update jcow_accounts set username = 'Miles' where id = 1;
[/code] [/quote]

Hmmm strange does nothing for me

174 months ago
Jcow Master (@falcone)
Join date: Sep 2nd 2010
Community posts: 917
View Profile
Send Message

did you put the ; at the end of the line ?

174 months ago
AL (@switch48)
Join date: Sep 1st 2010
Community posts: 450
View Profile
Send Message

Yip doesn't do anything for me...

I tried the username changer mod too and that kind of works the only problem with that is it spits out error when I go to profile page...

Not Found

The requested URL /u/AL was not found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

174 months ago
Jcow Master (@falcone)
Join date: Sep 2nd 2010
Community posts: 917
View Profile
Send Message

you can edit the accounts table in phpmyadmin

or maybe you can try with jcow_accounts and username and id

adding the `

maybe for some reason the id of admin is not 1 or the accounts table has another prefix other than jcow_

174 months ago
Jcow Master (@falcone)
Join date: Sep 2nd 2010
Community posts: 917
View Profile
Send Message

changing the username can cause troubles.

i changed my username from admin into Miles (just a test, on my localhost) and when clicked on the link in the news feed to see the profile i got an 404 error. For some reason, this doesn't happen with the name miles. Also when you became friend with somebody before the change of username, the old username remains in the news feed because it was written to the database.

By the way. in the new version of Jcow, the real name will be displayed on the profile, but not in the forums.

174 months ago
Zapto (@zapto)
Join date: Sep 15th 2010
Community posts: 103
View Profile
Send Message

You can use this modules.

[url]http://community.jcow.net/forums/viewthread/496[/url]

Use my modules and you can rename username and e-mail.

174 months ago
AL (@switch48)
Join date: Sep 1st 2010
Community posts: 450
View Profile
Send Message

[quote=zapto]You can use this modules.

[url]http://community.jcow.net/forums/viewthread/496[/url]

Use my modules and you can rename username and e-mail. [/quote]

Yea I have tried your mod and it does change username but when you click on the changed profile avater you get ...

Not Found

The requested URL /u/AL was not found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

174 months ago
AL (@switch48)
Join date: Sep 1st 2010
Community posts: 450
View Profile
Send Message

[quote=falcone]you can edit the accounts table in phpmyadmin

or maybe you can try with jcow_accounts and username and id

adding the `

maybe for some reason the id of admin is not 1 or the accounts table has another prefix other than jcow_ [/quote]

Ok tried both of these and same error,It does change username but it still spits out same error hmmm...

174 months ago
1 2 Next